Mix doesn't support your web browser. For a better experience, we recommend using another browser.
Wicked Sound
Celeste delivers a gripping performance of brand new single ‘Strange’So simple, and so beautiful. incredible talented singer/songwriter Celeste delivers a gripping performance of brand new single ‘Strange’, with string arrangement by Seb Plano in popular YouTube series COLORS. Celeste wrote “Strange” in Los Angeles last November, after driving down the freeway and seeing plumes of smoke emerging from the California wildfires. “Immediately I found myself becoming quite overwhelmed,” she remembers. “I began to think of all the destruction the fires caused, the loss, the isolation, people finding themselves in a situation where they have no home, no sense of familiarity.” “In the first verse I talk about the breakdown of certain relationships, when the burning passion or the fire goes out and you’re left with the remnants of smoke and ash. ‘I tried for you, tried to see through all the smoke but it wouldn’t move…’ Although the news about the fire wasn’t the direct inspiration for the song, it made me feel something I could truly understand that day, and opened me up to my own personal experiences of loss.” Celeste is Los Angeles born, Brighton-raised, London based British-Jamaican singer/songwriter. Her breakout 2018 singles ‘Both Sides of the Moon’ and ‘Lately’ in collaboration with Leeds jazz collective Gotts Street Park. Both songs and January’s single ‘Father’s Son’ were joined together in stunning collection the ‘Lately’ EP this March. The 5-track release, which also included ‘Summer’ featuring Jeshi and ‘Ugly Thoughts’, cemented her status as one of the UK’s most promising soul singers. Earlier this summer she dropped the enthralling ‘Coco Blood,’ (included in our The Wicked Sound weekly playlist week 5) accompanied by a music video shot in Jamaica. You can it here:
Robert Glasper released today a new mixtape 'F*ck Yo Feelings'Robert Glasper no matter if he is playing with his Trio, Xperiment or Black Radio, is always building bridges, joining dots and bending genres. He has this strange type of magnetism, wherever he is going, I am going after him. Robert Glasper released today a new mixtape called ‘Fuck Yo Feelings’. Mixtape is a collection of 19 tracks recorded during 48 hours session. Mixtape “is the result of a two-day session in which Glasper invited musician friends to stop by the studio and organically create together”. Record is full of guests: Yasiin Bey (Mos Def), Herbie Hancock, Denzel Curry, Mick Jenkins, YBN Cordae, Terrace Martin, Bilal, Andra Day, Rapsody, Derrick Hodge, and Chris Dave. Watch a documentary on the creation of Fuck Yo Feelings: Fuck Yo Feelings is the first time since 2016 that Glasper has released new music under his own name. In recent years he has released music as a member of both R+R=NOW (with Terrace Martin, Christian Scott, Derrick Hodge, Taylor McFerrin, and Justin Tyson) and August Green (with Common and Karriem Riggins) as August Greene and also released music with R+R=NOW (with Terrace Martin, Christian Scott, Derrick Hodge, Taylor McFerrin, and Justin Tyson). He also collaborated with Kendrick Lamar on ‘To Pimp A Butterfly’ and recently Brittany Howard on her debut solo album ‘Jaime’. The release of this mixtape starting Glasper’s month-long residency at New York’s Blue Note Jazz Club, during which time he’ll be joined on stage by many of the mixtape’s collaborators. Featuring 56 shows over the course of 28 days, the residency also promises tributes to J Dilla, Roy Hargrove, and Stevie Wonder. Fuck Yo Feelings Tracklist: 01. Intro (feat. Affion Crockett) 02. This Changes Everything (feat. Buddy, Denzey Curry, Terrace Martin, and James Poyser) 03. Gone (feat. YBN Cordae, Bilal, and Herbie Hancock) 04. Let Me In (feat. Mick Jenkins) 05. In Case You Forgot 06. Indulging in Such 07. Fuck Yo Feelings (feat. Yebba) 08. Endangered Black Woman (feat. Andra Day and Staceyann Chin) 09. Expectations (feat. Baby Rose and Rapsody) 10. All I Do (feat. SIR, Bridget Kelly, and Song Bird) 11. Aah Whoa (feat. Muhsinah and Queen Sheba) 12. I Want You 13. Trade in Bars Yo (feat. Herbie Hancock) 14. DAF Fall Out 15. Sunshine (feat. YBN Cordae) 16. Liquid Swords 17. DAF FTF 18. Treal (feat. Yasiin Bey) 19. Cold
Grammy Award winning music producer Terrace Martin releases new song and video 'All I Own'Terrace Martin featured yesterday in Robert Glasper’s new mixtape ‘Fuck Yo Feeling’, today on his own track. He dropped his new very personal lyrically song ‘All I Own’. New video to the song come some time promoting a new album called ‘Drones’ which is coming soon. Terrace Martin is an American musician, rapper, singer, songwriter, record producer, and actor from Los Angeles, California. He is a missing link between the world of jazz music and the world of hip-hop culture. Well known on the one side as a producer of revolutionary Kendrick Lamar’s albums, and on the other side as a sideman and producer for Herbie Hancock. He is perhaps best known for producing records for several prominent artists in the music industry, including Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, The Game, Busta Rhymes, Stevie Wonder, and Raphael Saadiq. Terrace also worked alongside jazz heavyweights like Herbie Hancock, Kamasi Washington, Christian Scott or Robert Glasper. Martin is a multi-instrumentalist, whose music production embodies everything from funk and jazz to classical and soul. Martin released seven studio albums, and the last two ‘Velvet Portraits’ and ‘Sounds Of Crenshaw Vol. 1’ on his newly formed label, Sounds of Crenshaw Records, through Ropeadope Records. On Terrace Martin Twitter account you can see the process of his songwriting: Both of his last albums he recorded with The Pollyseeds. The Pollyseeds are a collaborative group of A-List producers, musicians, and creators: Trevor Lawrence Jr, Rose Gold, Kamasi Washington, Robert Glasper, Wyann Vaughn, Robert Sput Searight, Preston Harris, Brandon Eugene Owens, Marlon Williams, Craig Brockman, Chachi, and Adam Turchin. Last year he debuted with another supergroup, R+R=NOW including himself on synthesizer and vocoder, Robert Glasper on keyboards, Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah on trumpet, Derrick Hodge on bass, Taylor McFerrin on synth and beatbox, and newcomer Justin Tyson on drums.